Monday, April 19, 2010

Summer Time

So, I finally know where I'll be for the summer! Mostly.
Justin got the job, he'll be working for Blue Sky Pest Control, selling pest control services door to door. It will be hard, and highly commission based, but there's the potential for a lot of money by the end of the semester. We both feel really good about it, so we're excited to see how that pans out. We'll be moving to North Phoenix/Glendale area. The company suggests an apartment complex for us, but it's pretty pricey, and they only reimburse about 70% of the cost of the rent there, so we've been looking around at other options. It's hard to find places that are not too expensive, but still nice, and have a 3 month lease option. We've found a few online that we want to look at, so we'll probably spend a day up there scouting things out.
We also want to see if we can find me a job while we're up there. It would be hard to commute several days a week, especially to a job I'm not all that fond of. So, we're hoping to find me something up there, probably just part time, just enough to keep me busy and bring in a little extra income.
Another exciting thing: I applied to be a writing tutor for fall semester through ASU, and on the application they said they'd only contact me if they wanted to set up an interview. Well, guess who has an interview scheduled for this Wednesday? It's only 50 cents less an hour in pay than I'm making now, I wouldn't have to drive from our apartment to work, then to school, then home every day, it would all be at ASU, and I think I'd like it a lot more. So, hopefully that goes well.
Things have been pretty exciting around here. Hopefully everything turns out as great as we want it to. We just have to make it through the end of the semester, finals, and packing.
Thanks for reading!

Saturday, April 10, 2010

An uneventful month

My life is very consistent:
Sunday: church
Monday: school and homework
Tuesday: work and homework
Wednesday: school, homework, mutual
Thursday: work and homework
Friday: school, sometimes work, and either laundry or free evening with my hubby
Saturday: laundry (if not done friday), school work, house work, grocery shopping.

Then I start all over again. That's why I haven't blogged in a while. What is there to blog about?
Conference was really great. I definitely felt uplifted, and it was a good boost, just what I needed. I didn't really feel like a lot of the talks related directly to me right now (major theme, as I'm sure most people noticed, was parents raising kids, family family family. I have a very small family, and I'm sure those talks will be useful when I am raising kids, but right now, I'm more focused on other things). But the talks were still really good, and even if I didn't take direct messages from each and every talk, the spirit that was felt that weekend was a great buoy to my spirit.
This past week and going into next week is crazy for me. Wednesday I had a test in my musicals class, Friday a test in English and in History, Monday I'll have one in my Religions class, and Wednesday I'll have a French test. Out of my five classes, I have a test in every class between last Wednesday and next Wednesday. But, once next Wednesday is over, I don't have much between that and finals. One paper (somehow I only have one paper to write this semester... so much for English majors having to write a lot!), one homework assignment in English, and one French composition. That's all I have between next week and finals, a good two to three weeks of school.
Justin and I will be moving in May. Not sure where to yet... Justin might be getting a job in North Phoenix over summer, selling pest control. Apparently he could make up to $19,000 over the summer (which is right around what we made combined for the total of last year). It's highly based on commission, but from the info he's been given, he will likely make at least 10,000. He found it through RMJobs, so it's a reputable company, and Ashley even said she knew someone in her old ward who worked for the company. If he does get that job, I'm not sure what I'll do with myself. I would still work probably two days a week, to keep my job, but not more than that, because holy cow that's a long drive. So, I'd have lots of time to craft and write and read and finish his Christmas stocking! And probably get mindlessly bored. We'll see.
That's pretty much all that's going on over here, I've got some cupcakes cooking in the oven (see post below this, finally trying them in cupcake form), I'll post pictures later if I remember to take any.